The GeeksverseAdvanced Review: John Byrne’s Next Men #1

Advanced Review: John Byrne’s Next Men #1
Published on Tuesday, December 14, 2010 by

by Joe Milone

Published by: IDW Publishing
Created, Written, and Art: John Byrne
Colors: Ronda Pattison
Edits: Chris Ryall
Letters: Robbie Robbins

John Byrne’s Next Men was originally published by Dark Horse Comics between 1991 and 1995 which Ran for 31 issues.

The premise of the book was about Project Next Men which was an experiment that was a trying to create super humans using children who were given up for adoption. The children were raised in a virtual reality world while their physical bodies were given time mature in a lab. Eventually five of them broke free of the virtual reality world exhibiting super powers. Those five were Nathan, Jasmine, Jack, Bethany and Danny.

This new series by IDW is a continuation of the original Dark Horse series and the first issue of the book is basically 20 pages recapping the original series sandwiched between a glimpse of the future and a look at the current status of the Next Men.

That being said, I feel like it’s a great way to kick off the new series because new readers can jump right in as it provides a complete history of the Next Men. Those who are familiar with the series already, while not getting a ton of new material in this book, should still appreciate the recap.

Byrne’s art is the big draw for me as I was always a fan of his work and this book did not disappoint me. His work is clean and crisp, the characters and backgrounds were visually pleasing. The writing is good as well, everything flowed together nicely and cohesive.

The book ended leaving me with a ton of questions I want answered and that’s a good thing, because I can’t wait to read the next issue!

JBNM #1 receives 4 out of 5 stars!

Discuss this story on the Pryde’s Foums

Comments are closed.

Connect With Us!
The Geeksverse on Instagram

- Instagram feed not found.
Recent Comments