The GeeksverseElric: The Balance Lost #1

Elric: The Balance Lost #1
Published on Wednesday, July 6, 2011 by

Written by: Chris Roberson
Art by: Francesco Biagini
Colored by: Stephen Downer
Lettered by: Travis Lanham
Cover Art: A- Francesco Mattina; B- Francesco Biagini; C- Dennis Calero; D- Tim Bradstreet
Assistant Editor: Shannon Watters
Editor: Matt Gagnon

Michael Moorcock’s Elric of Melnibone comes to comics. I’m sure he’s been in comics before, but I can’t remember when. I seem to remember Marvel having some books starring Elric years ago. Regardless, it’s been years.

I don’t know much about the character. I’ve never read any of Moorcock’s work. And I know that’s almost blasphemy for a fantasy fan. So in a way, aside from the FCBD prelude, this is my first exposure to Elric. I know a little about the character and thats how I approached this book.

In a way the title is misleading. This isn’t just an Elric book. He shares equal page time with other Moorcock creations, Dorian Hawkmoon and Corum of the Scarlet Robe. Of course, those are just aspects of Elric in the many parallel worlds that make up the universe. More page time is devoted to Eric Beck, a software developer who is having dreams of a pale warrior.

All the threads have one thing in coming, it seems like Chaos is getting stronger.

It’s an interesting way to write the book and I think it’ll really appeal to fans of Moorcocks and Elric, as well as the other characters. But does it work for non-fans or new fans?

Yes and no.

Yes because it’s a nice way of telling a similar story but from different points of views. It highlights the multiverse and how even though the worlds are different, they still somewhat resemble eachother.

No because unless you know about the characters, there’s not much time devoted to each in order to connect with them. We don’t get enough time with each to find a hook to get interested in the character.

That and they all talk to much. There are some captions, but for the most part they speak aloud and talk alot. Especially Elric. In a way it’s somewhat annoying.

As a non-fan I don’t know if there was enough here to grip me and make me want to read the second issue. For fans of the work? This has everything they’d want and should be enough to make them come back for more.

Biagini’s art is excellant. He does great with Elric, Dorian and Corum. All three bear resemblances to eachother, but there’s enough of a difference that they stand apart from the others. You know they’re all aspects of the same, but it drives home the differences in the multiverse. And it even carries over to Eric Beck and his twin brother.

In a book like this the artist has to pay attention to the details. The worlds have to be different enough that they stand out but not so badly. They need to all be Earth, just different Earths, but recognizable as Earth. Same with the characters and backgrounds. There’s a flying cat in Dorians world and we see a similar cat in a flashback of Corums.

Biagini’s storytelling is strong. Artwise the issue is good.

Elric: The Balance Lost #1 receives
3.5 out of 5

As a non-fan, the multiple viewpoints make it somewhat harder to get invested in.

Comments are closed.

Connect With Us!
The Geeksverse on Instagram
Recent Comments