The GeeksverseVengeance #1

Vengeance #1
Published on Thursday, July 7, 2011 by

Written by: Joe Casey
Art by: Nick Dragotta
Colors: Brad Simpson
Letters: Rus Wooton
Cover Art: A - Gabriele Dell'Otto; B- Deodator & McCaig
Asst. Editor: Rachel Pinnelas
Editor: Tom Brennan

When the interviews and snippets about this series came out, it was hard to get an idea of what it was going to be about. It’s still hard to get an idea of what the series is going to be about.

One thing we can say about this book is that it’s allowing Joe Casey to show off some of his earlier creations. Both Stacy X and Sugar Kane (the pop star that had a thing for Chamber) from his run on Uncanny X-Men show up here. We also get to see what Angel and Beak have been up. What it appears they are up to is being part of a new Teen Brigade.

The original Teen Brigade was a group of HAM radio operators Rick Jones worked with to pass messages around and let the super heroes know where there was trouble. This new group seems to let their own team of super heroes know and these heroes work behind the scenes.

The first assignment we see is supposedly about Ultimate Nullifier “saving” Stacey X. This is where it falls apart though. Apparently he’s supposed to be saving Stacy from Magneto who finds her in a hotel room with Nullifier and Kane, engaged in “promiscuity” as Magneto puts it. Nullifer still thinks Magneto is a bad guy. The plot falls apart because without Nullifier, Stacy and Kane may not have ended up in that hotel room for Magneto to “attack”. So how did Magneto know where to find Stacey? And how did the “teen brigade” learn that Magneto was going ot come after her?

There are too many “hows” for the plot to hold together.

The other “around in circles” part involves Kyle Richmond, the former Nighthawk. He’s eating lunch with a former SHIELD agent who was sent to him by Joaquin Pennysworth. The former agent informs Richmond of some information being sold and thinks it’s spies. The plot breaks down because Pennysworth is the new Nighthawk. So Pennysworth sent this man to Richmond only to have Richmond put Pennysworth on the assignment.

Like I said, around in circles.

There are three stories in this issue. Which wouldn’t be bad if we had an overall idea of what this series was supposed to be about. The stories have some major holes in the plots and the entire thing seems incomplete. It acts like there’s a big idea floating under the surface, but we’re still too far above for the idea to show.

Dragotta’s art is nice. He’s got a different enough style that it gives the book a different feel from the other super hero stories out there. Dragotta’s art is really the only thing about this story that feels finished. The plots have major holes but the art is solid.

Vengeance #1 receives
3 out of 5

There’s supposed to be a big idea out there, but any hint of it is lacking in this story.

Comments are closed.

Connect With Us!
The Geeksverse on Instagram

- Instagram feed not found.
Recent Comments